Know your motor health with the 6 Fault Zones

To confidently report the electrical condition of a motor, there are six areas of interest known as Fault Zones that must be looked at during the troubleshooting effort.

These Fault Zones are Power Quality, Power Circuit, Stator, Insulation, Rotor, and Air Gap.

Power Quality:
Quality of the voltage and current

Turn-to-turn insulation and internal coil connections

Air Gap:
Quality of the air gap between the rotor and the stator

Winding to ground insulation

Health of the rotor cage and laminations

Power Circuit:
Circuit supplying power to the motor

This insightful white paper by PdMA’s David L. McKinnon will provide a brief introduction to a Six Fault Zone approach for predictive maintenance on motors.

More from PdMA

Five channel dynamic testing…


Five channel Static Motor Tester…

Six channel inrush for improved trouble shooting and analysis…

How may we assist?

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.